A
A
A
Close
Autonomic Dysfunction Community
1.51k Members

New to POTS - Feedback Please

HI All ~

I am a POTS newbie...or as my son calls it. POTS but no pans. Thats me!

I also have an autoimmune disease (Systemic Sclerosis), Hypothyroid, and MGUS. And well now - POTS

They feel the autoimmune disease probobly caused the thyroid issue and the MGUS may be autoimmune related as well.

How did I POTS get invited to my diagnosis party? Well - I had a few episodes where I would get tachy when I was walking (Felt like you do when you have a fever, that throb when you walk to fridge) so I would take my pulse and sure enough, I was up to like 124 just standing and up to 140 just walking to the fridge, so of course I thought I was dehydrated and drove myself to the ER to get fluids...

They agreed and gave my fluids, around 5 bags and sure enough my Heart Rate went down and I was sent home..Well this continued to happen and I continued to think I was dehydrated and thought perhaps it was due to the Scleroderma. I would go in to ER and they would pump me full of fluids and let me go,

That is until this last visit... I had a doc that noticed my HR would decrease with fluids wbut would jump when I moved, stood up or walked and he felt the fluids were just a band-aid, and that something else was going on. Which got me admitted where they recorded the phenom and saw it happen.

They didnt know what it was and since I was sinus tachy, I was again given fluids on the floor and discharged, as the Cardio stated "Sinus tachycardia is NOT a cardiac issue" - it is driven from elsewhere in the body, we just need to find out where.

So home I went... and followed up - Got the eye rolls from the Cardio and tests scheduled, but before I could get them done - Another bout of HR this time 180 - 200 and I fainted, which again got me promptly seen and admitted - However, this time a new cardio saw me and said, "With your autoimmune disease - I think this is autonomic"