Aa
Aa
A
A
A
Close

HSV 1

I have been in a monogomous relationship with my girlfriend for 5 years. She was recently diagnosed with genital HSV1. I have never had a history of cold sores which to my knowledge is not uncommon. She showed symptoms after I performed oral sex on her which I assume means that I have carried the oral HSV1 virus from when I was a kid. What does this mean for future transmission between us. We are in a very serious relationship and have no intention of breaking up, can she transmit the virus from her own genitals to her own mouth? Can it transfer to my genitals? Will their be a risk of making the virus worse if we continue at some point in the future to perform oral sex on one another?

Thanks
2 Responses
First let me stress that i am not an expert on this matter but have done a vast amount of research on this topic in the past few months after a herpes scare. I have also talked to a variety of professionals on the matter as well in my research.